The penalties for a DUI conviction in Illinois depend on the particular facts of each case. For instance, a judge will take a driver’s age and whether he or she has a prior record of driving violations into account during sentencing. Retaining an experienced Plainfield DUI attorney is one of the best ways to ensure that a judge is aware of your own circumstances and will also give you the best chance of having your charges reduced or even dismissed.
In Illinois, a person driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or more can be charged with driving under the influence. In fact, law enforcement officers can even arrest someone with a lower BAC, as long as it doesn’t drop below .05, but only if there is other evidence that a driver is impaired. Drivers can also be charged if:
Fortunately, those who are charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs can raise a number of defenses, including that the breathalyzer test was improperly conducted, that the officer’s initial stop of their vehicle was unlawful, or that their behavior was attributed to something besides intoxication, including illness or fatigue.
The penalties for a DUI depend on a number of factors, including the driver’s age and BAC, whether the driver has been convicted of driving under the influence on a prior occasion, and whether any passengers under the age of 16 years old were in the car at the time of the arrest. For instance, first time DUI offenders are generally charged with a Class A misdemeanor, which means that they could lose their license for up to a year. However, if the driver had a BAC of .16 or more, he or she will also be required to pay a $500 fee and perform at least 100 hours of community service. If a child under the age of 16 years old was in the car, penalties are enhanced even further and the driver could end up spending six months in prison, paying a $1,000 fine, and performing 25 days of community service.
Subsequent convictions are punishable by jail time and heftier fines, in addition to much longer driver’s license suspension periods. For instance, a person convicted of a second DUI could lose his or her license for at least five years, while third time offenders could have their licenses revoked for ten years.
If you were recently arrested for or charged with driving under the influence, please call Sabuco, Beck, Hansen & Massino, P.C. at 815-730-8860 to discuss your case with an experienced Plainfield DUI attorney. A member of our legal team is standing by and eager to help you throughout each step of your case.
How did we do?
Note: Your review may be shared publicly.
We are closely observing the situation regarding COVID-19 and taking all necessary steps to protect the health and safety of our clients and employees. All staff are following strict hygiene and cleaning procedures and following recommendations to limit the risk of exposure.
Because our services require close contact and interaction with our clients, we are acting with extreme caution to prevent further spread of the disease. If you are having symptoms of illness or may have been exposed to the virus, please contact us to reschedule your services. Our staff will be happy to assist you.
We are deemed an "essential business" under the Governor's Shelter-in-Place Order, and thus we will continue to remain open and provide services to our existing and new clients during this shutdown. In an effort to remain compliant with the social distancing directives of the CDC, and the Governor's Order, we are closing the lobby of our offices to outside visitors.
Our Joliet and Morris offices will remain open and staffed with attorneys and paralegals, and we will remain available to our clients by telephone, email, or video conferencing at the hours listed below:
Joliet: Monday-Thursday 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Friday 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Morris: Monday-Friday 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.