Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a serious offense in Illinois that is punishable by fines, driver’s license suspension, and even imprisonment. With so much at stake, it is critical for those who are arrested with or charged with driving under the influence, to speak with an experienced Joliet DUI attorney who may be able to get their charges reduced or even dismissed.
Illinois law defines driving under the influence as operating a vehicle while impaired by alcohol, other drugs prescribed for medical purposes, or intoxicating compounds. Specifically, a driver will be considered to be under the influence if:
However, even when an individual has a BAC lower than .08, but higher than .05, he or she can still be convicted of DUI if additional evidence exists showing that the driver was impaired.
The penalties for DUI in Illinois depend on the circumstances of each case, so judges will take certain factors into consideration during sentencing, including:
Generally, those arrested for DUI for the first time can expect to be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, have their vehicle registration suspended, and have their license revoked for a year. First time offenders who have a BAC of .16 or more can also be ordered to pay a fine of $500 and perform at least 100 hours of community service and those who had a passenger under the age of 16 years old in the car face imprisonment for up to six months. If the minor was injured in a crash, the driver’s charge will be enhanced to a Class 4 felony.
Second convictions are penalized even more severely, as defendants can expect to spend at least five days, but up to a year in prison or be required to perform 240 hours of community service. Furthermore, their license will be revoked for at least five years if the conviction is the driver’s second in 20 years. Third convictions are considered Aggravated DUIs and can result in a license revocation of least ten years. Those who are convicted a fourth or fifth time will lose their driving privileges for life and face imprisonment for up to 12 years.
If you were arrested for DUI, please call Sabuco, Beck, Hansen & Massino, P.C. at 815-730-8860 to speak with an experienced Joliet DUI attorney who can explain your legal options.
How did we do?
Note: Your review may be shared publicly.
We are closely observing the situation regarding COVID-19 and taking all necessary steps to protect the health and safety of our clients and employees. All staff are following strict hygiene and cleaning procedures and following recommendations to limit the risk of exposure.
Because our services require close contact and interaction with our clients, we are acting with extreme caution to prevent further spread of the disease. If you are having symptoms of illness or may have been exposed to the virus, please contact us to reschedule your services. Our staff will be happy to assist you.
We are deemed an "essential business" under the Governor's Shelter-in-Place Order, and thus we will continue to remain open and provide services to our existing and new clients during this shutdown. In an effort to remain compliant with the social distancing directives of the CDC, and the Governor's Order, we are closing the lobby of our offices to outside visitors.
Our Joliet and Morris offices will remain open and staffed with attorneys and paralegals, and we will remain available to our clients by telephone, email, or video conferencing at the hours listed below:
Joliet: Monday-Thursday 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Friday 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Morris: Monday-Friday 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.