Schedule An Appointment

815-730-8860

Joliet DUI Attorney

Joliet DUI Attorney

DUI charges refer to driving under the influence (of either alcohol or drugs), and a conviction is a serious matter that carries not only considerable legal fines and penalties but can also lead to difficult social challenges. If you are facing a DUI charge, it’s time to reach out for the professional legal guidance of an experienced Joliet DUI attorney

Your DUI Charge

In Illinois, a charge of DUI can be levied against you if you are determined to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. Further, you can be charged with DUI if the arresting officer determines that the alcohol in your system is affecting your ability to drive safely – even if your BAC is not over the legal limit. A DUI charge in Illinois is generally a Class A misdemeanor which carries a maximum sentence of one year in jail and a maximum fine of $2,500, but the charge can be elevated to a felony, which comes with harsher punishments, if you have past convictions and/or were driving without a valid license. While a first DUI offense is unlikely to elicit a maximum sentence, there are other consequences to consider, such as:

  • Substance abuse counseling requirements
  • Fees, surcharges, court costs, and the expense of any court-ordered rehabilitation programs, which can include an alcohol awareness course
  • Community service
  • Driver’s license suspension
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID)

Because a conviction is a matter of public record, it’s also important to take social consequences like the following into consideration:

  • Difficulty renting an apartment or obtaining a home loan 
  • Difficulty obtaining a job
  • A decline in overall social standing
  • The loss of professional licensure

Driver’s License Suspension

One of the most challenging consequences of a DUI can be the driver’s license suspension, which makes it difficult to get to and from work and to fully engage in the activities of daily living. The length of your suspension will be affected by whether or not you took the breathalyzer test or not. While it is your legal right to refuse, doing so can lead to an automatic driver’s license suspension. Consider the following:

  • If you take the breathalyzer test and fail, you face six months of driver’s license suspension. 
  • If you refuse the breathalyzer test outright, you face one year of driver’s license suspension. 
  • If it’s not your first conviction and you fail the breathalyzer test, you face one year of driver’s license suspension. 

As long as your license is valid, you may be eligible to obtain a restricted driving permit that allows you to drive within exacting parameters. 

Turn to a Joliet DUI Attorney for the Legal Help You Need

If you’ve been charged with DUI, you face serious consequences that can make moving forward into your brightest future far more challenging. The trusted DUI attorneys at Sabuco Beck, PC, have decades of impressive experience helping clients like you prevail with favorable case resolutions, and we’re on your side. Your future is too important to leave to chance, so please don’t wait to reach out and contact us for more information today. 

practice areas

awards & associations

Call Now Button